The Slouchy Couch {my brief venture into hoarding}

{Image via here. Not my actual couch, peeps.}

Poor ol’ gal…it’s about time we put her out of her misery.

She’s just a baby at the age of 10 years, but in couch years, I think that’s like 100.  My husband and I purchased her, along with her faithful sidekick, “love seat”, shortly after we married and moved into our first home.   She was quite a bit more perky in those days, her dark greenish fabric more vibrant, her pillows more stout.  Now, she’s facing an inevitable end (for us, at least)…Craigslist.

Thinking of getting rid of her stirs up a lot of emotion, surprisingly.  I’ve thought about the bedtime stories that have been read, the naps that have been taken, and the endless conversations with the dearest of people that have graced her now squished-down cushions.  The permanent presence of marker slips, juice stains, and spit up spots tell the stories of the last ten, precious years of our lives.  Getting rid of those treasured memories seems absurd.

Then, I tell myself, you’re not throwing away your past…you hoarder!  It’s just the place where many a butts have camped out for the last ten years….lots of butts….many, many butts.

Its seems to me that the preservative that makes memories most flavorful is most potent when we remove the meaningless, materialistic junk.

But, then, the thought of getting rid of a couch comes with A LOT less pain than the thought of my parents selling the home I grew up in.  Why don’t they just take my childhood and put it on the market!

So, how do we cling to the important things of the past without clinging to the junk?  In all of my 30 years, I have yet to scratch the surface of loss and pain and grief.  As if those are things you can prepare for. 

I guess learning to let go of something in your hand so that it can forever live in your heart is an art that takes practice…lots of often painful practice.

Do tell…what is one object you’ve held onto because of the memories it holds?  Leave me a comment….

4 thoughts on “The Slouchy Couch {my brief venture into hoarding}

  1. Jenn, you are no more a hoarder than I am a unicorn. We all know who the real hoarders are in your family :). I really do admire you for your ability to just let stuff go. You really don’t let things pile up, and it’s not like you just trash what you don’t want or used up. You recycle and give things away, and you approach your home decorating with a minimalist aesthetic we all should aspire to.

    The things I have a hard time parting with because of some sort of emotional attachment include books, and baby clothes or my kids toys. It’s not only the associative memories, but also the thought that with some of things I also think of the time and care someone went through to pick out and buy that thing because they thought it would make me or my kids happy. The books are mostly just an addiction that I am not willing to give up.

    And then there are the things — unmatched socks, plastic containers, worn out clothes, etc. — I am just too lazy to do anything about.

  2. I once had the same thoughts of a couch that had seen its time. So many hours spent snuggling my sweet baby girl. But somehow the new couch has made many new memories as well.
    Matt would tell you about 7th grade french notebook that I for some reason packed around. They are finally gone though. I have a hard time letting go of baby clothes. They each hold a memory of an event in their tiny days that I cannot ever get back. You know that I have a photo of them in that outfit as well but somehow that is not good enough. I am slowly resolving to letting go (as the bins took over our attic) and selling them to buy new clothes. The thought of a shipping trip in my future makes it a little easier.

Leave a Reply

